A never ending journey of Hope

Posted on January 2, 2022

0


That is what meeting Michael Jackson and spending time at the Neverland ranch has meant for one small child, Jamil. He was barely 3 years old at the time back in 1990. And was clearly one of the youngest kids who spent time on this special visit with Michael Jackson at his Neverland Ranch in July of 1990. The group of kids got the opportunity to spend the day with Michael Jackson through the Project Dream Street and the “Make a Wish Foundation” for kids with life threatening illness, from what Jamil has been told about the trip. Since Jamil was only a toddler at the time and counts on family and the pictures taken that day to refresh his memory. Jamil still has the Hat that was on his head that day, he guards and treasure’s it along with the photos of such a life changing event.

First it is important to please let me give my thanks to Robert Everett, his brother Eric and their mom for my introduction to Jamil. And for helping to provide this opportunity to share with others, that has been given to me. And I hope that you will also share Jamil’s story, one that is so heartwarming and inspirational.

Most of us understand that when you hear of a child who is being granted a wish through the Make a Wish foundation and other organization’s such as theirs that usually the child may not have a long life expectancy due to a life threatening illness or disease.

Certainly, Jamil has defied all the odds, and has lived beyond what others have thought was even possible, you see, Jamil refuses to lose hope. And he share how knowing he spent that time with Michael, “It feels wonderful. Michael always been a Big part of my life , and that will never change.”

Being only a toddler at the time Jamil has to rely on others to tell him about the time he spent with Michael Jackson , “I just wish I could remember so bad meeting him and hearing his voice, the kind words . I’ve often thought about hypnotherapy to help recover the memory.” Jamil shared the frustration of trying to fully recall those moments and the health issues he has faced. “ I’ve wanted someone to write my story for years . But, being born and diagnosed with HIV during that time , the doctors didn’t expect me to live long , but I beat the odds. I’ll be 35 on the 6th of February“ Jamil bravely shared with me.

Also this week Jamil is scheduled for a usually minor operation, on this Thursday January 6, 2022 for a parathyroidectomy.

It is inspiring to learn how for over 3 decades now Jamil has continue to survive through many of his health challenges. And the doctors predictions and a projected short life expectancy for him. He really wants to know if any of the other kids from that visit to the Neverland ranch back in July if 1990, if any of them have managed to also survive through there illness and all of the health issues, its a question he asks himself frequently.

Jamil signs his autographs to a copy of the of him with Michael Jackson back in 1990 at the Neverland Ranch

“ I’ve been on hemodialysis since 2007 . I was born hiv positive in 1987 contracted by my birth mother. I was adopted at around 3 months old by 2 lesbians who are my Moms , and that’s what lead me to meeting Michael Jackson through “ make a wish foundation “ Jamil courageously shared.

If there was just some way to find out if any of the kids have been so fortunate to have survived as long as he has and if so, Jamil dreams of some kind of a reunion. That is really a pressing thought and question that stays on Jamil’s mind. Your words of encouragement, good thoughts and prayers for Jamil would and are appreciated. Also please stay tuned as Jamil gets ready for his surgery this week and please check back, as I bring you his updates as Jamil would like to have an autograph signing session once he recovers from his surgery . To be continued ”Part 1- a never ending Journey of Hope of one Neverland Kid – Jamil Campbell-Pompey”

article by Tina Quizon – January 2, 2022

In 1990 Jamil was part of a group of Children who visited Michael .