The VA’s early detection of Breast Cancer and a successful Surgery made a difference for me

Posted on April 7, 2015

0


"Bee Fine" after my successful Breast Cancer Surgery at Tripler Army Medical  Center

“Bee Fine” after my successful Breast Cancer Surgery at Tripler Army Medical Center

The VA and Tripler Hospital made a difference for me with the early detection of Breast Cancer and a successful Surgery to remove the cancerous tumor by a team of Doctors and Nurses at Tripler Army Medical Center, last Tuesday March 31, 2015. Although, in the past I have had to speak out and have brought many true and hurtful facts of the VA’s treatment of myself and other Homeless Female Veterans to the forefront.

For my Breast Cancer disease, I know the VA made a difference for me, I am grateful and I am on the road to recovery from Breast Cancer. And I would recommend and tell any and all Veterans if you have not yet please immediately go to your local VA (Veterans Affairs) and get registered and find out about the help and services that are available at the VA to every Veteran.

It has been, I believe a life changing diagnosis during my Mammogram by the VA employee at the Hawaii Pacific Islands Health Care System that possibly saved my life with early detection. Especially since my lump was not noticeable or detectable by a self breast examination, and by the doctors examination. It took a vigilante employee and even deeper probing with the additional ultra-son and biopsy that confirmed I had Invasive Inductive Carcinoma “Breast Cancer” in my left breast.

Part of my respite during my Hosptal Stay at Tripler TAMC has been celebrating with watercolors some “Blooming Colors” a Flower collection and finding ways through Photography to “Bee Fine” on this Cancer Journey.

After Tina Quizon's breast Cancer Surgery  while recovering at Tripler Hosptial, she created "Blooming Flowers" a Water Color painted by  Female Veteran Tina Quizon

After Tina Quizon’s breast Cancer Surgery while recovering at Tripler Hosptial, she created “Blooming Flowers” a Water Color painted by Female Veteran Tina Quizon

Another part of the help I am receiving is the from “Iwalani Foundation” for Breast Cancer. Iwalani Walsh Tseu the founder of the Non Profit, reached out to me to provide a room with a bed and shower. The Iwalani Foundation has been here for Local Women here in Honolulu needing help with Breast Cancer challenges, has reached out and contacted me before my Hospital Discharge yesterday. With the action of Aloha, the the Iwalani Foundation is a small non profit organization with no budget, that is approachable and accessible here in Honolulu, reached out to me and is providing me “my own Bedroom and with my own Shower, and shared kitchen”, to stay.

The Beautiful Women of Hawaii and to raise funds for the Iwalani Foundation for Breast Cancer Awareness.

Iwalani Tseu and other Women Warriors share and Speak the truth about Breast Cancer.

I would also like to mention that Shadonna from Mo’s Hero’s also reached out to visit me at Tripler Army Medical Hospital on Easter Sunday, and provided me with the donation of a dress, the pair of shoes and several nice shirts and 2 visa – $25.00 gift cards, for me to be able to sustain myself for gas and food for the next few days.

Article by Tina Quizon. April 7, 2015

