VA Employee Verbally Accosted Female Veteran Tina Quizon diagnosed with Breast Cancer

Posted on March 24, 2015

1


I recorded the verbal assault I endured. I was interrogated and accosted by VA Employee Jackie Nguyen, after I informed the VA worker that I had breast cancer and was going to have to under go Surgery.

Listen to how Jackie the VA employee felt it was necessary to Verbally Accost me a Female Veteran just diagnosed with Breast Cancer. Jackie ripped into me, letting me know that since no one had helped me, not even Eric Shinseki, not the Governor of Hawaii or our congressional leaders has cared to come to my aid or has stopped the the retaliation and harassment. Jackie told me that – I need to look at myself and that I must be doing something wrong. Jackie the VA Employee insisted on telling me that the VA has told me over and over again that I do not qualify for help as a homeless female veteran. And that I have to stop blaming the VA for denying me services and benefits. To move on, move on , “you were denied”. On January 9, 2015 I was handed a Letter from Andrew Dahlberg and the VA HUD program, informing me that I do not qualify for the VA HUD HOMELESS program. Even though I have been dealing with bouts of homelessness due to the high cost of housing, martial separation and Domestic Violence in 2012 and I would be considered Chronically Homeless at this point. I wrote to President Obama and hope that he will help and take up the plight of myself and other Veterans needlessly suffering from harm, neglect and abuse by the VA .

Here is the email I sent last night to President Obama, the VA and CNN News:

March 23, 2015

To President Obama,

I recorded the verbal assault as I was interrogated and accosted by VA Employee Jackie Nguyen, Cell: (808) 347-4412 ( jackie.nguyen2@va.gov ) after I informed the VA and the worker of my diagnosis from the General Surgeon Dr. Laure Greer, at Tripler Medical Center, that I had breast cancer and was going to have to under go surgery.

Jackie ripped into me, letting me know that since no one had helped me, not even Eric Shinseki, not the Governor of Hawaii or our congressional leaders has cared to come to my aid or has stopped the the retaliation and harassment,Jackie told me that – I need to look at myself and that I must be doing something wrong. Jackie insisted on telling me that the VA has told me over and over again that I do not qualify for help as a homeless female veteran. And that I have to stop blaming the VA for denying me services and benefits. To move on, etc, etc.

I recorded the verbal assault. Because of all the retaliation and harassment I have endured and tried to expose the wrong doing, abuse and ill treatment of myself and other female veterans. I knew no one would believe me if I did not record the continued attacks from VA Employee’s, I have endured while trying to get help from the VA here in Hawaii.

I believe this is unacceptable and needs to be exposed. I was never in a war theatre and would hate to have one of our Veterans returning from combat duty and experience such inhumane and insensitive treatment by VA workers as I have endured.

I now have less than 8 days until my Breast Cancer surgery and I have no roof over my head, I sleep in my car which is illegal in Hawaii. I don’t know from day to day where I will be able to Shower and so I have told the surgeons at tripler that I am extremely worried that I will get an infection from the surgery because of being homeless and without the basic necessities of shelter and a shower/bath.

And though I have tried to get help for housing, my Doctor referred me to the VA HOMELESS Program in early Oct, I did not receive any Homeless program appointment until Dec, 30, 2014 from the VA and even with me writing and contacting Sec. McDonald and Alision Hickey for assistance. I get nothing but denial after denial. On January 9, 2015 I was handed a Letter from Andrew Dahlberg and the VA HUD program, informing me that I do not qualify for the HUD HOMELESS program. Even though I have been dealing with bouts of homelessness due to the high cost of housing, martial separation and Domestic Violence in 2012 and I would be considered Chronically Homeless at this point.

Please feel free to contact me and I call share a copy of the Audio recording. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Tina Quizon
808 386 1021

Now facing Breast Cancer, Tina is verbally accosted by VA Employee Jackie Nguyen and told to  just move on your denied VA services.

Tina Quizon TV Producer filming on the Tarmac as President Obama arrives to Honolulu Hawaii. Now facing Breast Cancer, Tina is verbally accosted by VA Employee Jackie Nguyen and told to just move on your denied VA services.

Posted in: Uncategorized