Honolulu emergency 911 busy, fails public safety

Posted on November 3, 2014

0


Article by Tina Quizon

3 calls to Honolulu Emergency 911 "BUSY" on Nov. 3, 2014

3 calls to Honolulu Emergency 911 “BUSY” on Nov. 3, 2014

As I was approached by a woman in tears stating she was suffering from Domestic Violence and one chance to help, my assistance failed as 3 calls to Honolulu Police emergency 911 was “busy”. I then try the domestic violence hotline 808 841 0822, and was told to hold on. Discouraged that no one answered her 911 calls, the woman with tears flowing down her face, who I will only identify as “M”, says to me “never mind, I’m not ready” and gets up from the table where we have gotten out of the dark and starts to retreat out the door and back into the darkness.

Honolulu emergency 911 busy, fails public safety

Honolulu emergency 911 busy, fails public safety

Earlier “M” stated to me that she is experiencing Domestic Violence, tonight she was choked with a jacket by her husband, that it is one of many instances. They have a 5 year old son, who is with the husband, they once had a thriving business, but are now homeless and have been staying in there truck. The Husband is now stalking her and she does not feel safe, she has no phone and no where to turn to.

Incidents like tonight, here in Honolulu, demonstrate why many domestic violence victims often don’t get the help they need. As we as a community again fail a person in need.

I got No return call back from 911.

