Honolulu Voters having to pay to Vote, harassed by Security Guard

Posted on November 2, 2014

0


Honolulu Hale City Hall was not so welcoming to voters. While trying to exercise my right to vote early yesterday morning, I pulled in to an empty stall, next to 3 other vehicles parked at Honolulu Hale. I parked my car in the open area on the left side of two empty Handicap stalls and got out of my car.

Security Guard at Honolulu Hale not so welcoming of Voters, harassing  Voters  at a public place

Security Guard at Honolulu Hale not so welcoming of Voters, harassing Voters at a public place

Immediately the Security Guard told me that I could not park there and that I had to move my car. The Security Guard stated to me that “the parking area was for the City Workers and the other two stalls for the Handicap. And that there was free parking out on the street. While this is a public place, I explained to the Security Guard that one of the City Workers instructed me that I could park on Honolulu Hale a public site and go in to vote. The Security Guard then stated to me that “well we are saving all these parking stalls.” I believe this was nothing more than harassment to me by the Security Guard.

I said okay and got back into my car, and drove to as advise by the Security Guard to the So-Called “Free Parking” on the street, many of the Meter stalls had a bag over it with a sign, “free parking to Voters”. I pulled up to the first empty street parking, but to my surprise that meter and others did not have the bag over it with a sign “free parking to Voters”. I still parked wanting to go and vote along with another driver and we both put over a $1.00 of coins, it was 25 cents for 10 minutes, I paid for one hour. The other driver looking back at all the other meters with bags and signs “free parking to Voters”, the driver stated “we are not supposed to have to pay to vote”. While the amount we paid might be minuscule, he was right and had made a very strong point. While many of you in the community may say these are insignificant small concerns, I believe these types of harassment, bars and restrictions is harmful to everyone’s voting rights, and only speaks to many bigger issues on the denial of Voters rights here in Hawaii and across the nation.

"Voters having to pay to Vote, meters that were supposed to be free to Voters still required payment"

“Voters having to pay to Vote, meters that were supposed to be free to Voters still required payment”

Other Voters witnessed, as to my surprise, as I walk up to Honolulu Hale to vote, the same Security Guard who just earlier denied me the right to park, walks back up to me. This Security Guard, she now tells me that “actually you can park here, go and get your car and park here.” I told the Security Guard, “no I have already paid the meter to park, not all the meters in the street area in front of Honolulu Hale are not free, I don’t want to spend more time and my gas to drive and come all the way back around to here, I just want to go inside and vote please.”

“Voters having to pay to Vote -  meters that were supposed to be free to Voters many still required payment”

“Voters having to pay to Vote – meters that were supposed to be free to Voters many still required payment”

