No response to Veteran from VA Secretary Robert A. McDonald or Mr. Wayne Pfeffer, Director VA PIHCS,

Posted on October 14, 2014

1


No response to my letter dated October 10, 2014 to Mr. Wayne Pfeffer, Director VA PIHCS and VA Secretary Robert A. McDonald. I hand carried the letter to Mr. Pfeffer’s VA office, his assistant time stamped receipt of the letter. I also emailed a copy to the VA OIG, which confirmed receipt and emailed the letter to VA Secretary Robert A. McDonald at Robert.A.McDonald@VA.gov and Allison Hickey at Allison.Hickey@VA.gov.

Here is a copy of the letter that I sent asking for a formal response by Mr. Wayne Pffer who I have met with on 3 different occasions. Mr. Pfeffer stated on September 29, 2014 at the Hawaii Veterans Town Hall meeting , that Mr. Pfeffer would be immediately getting back to me to address and investigate why it is taking over 575 days for the VA to appoint and determine who is my PCP – Primary Care Physician (Doctor) and the denial of my due process of my formal complaint to the VA.

Letter to VA Secretary Robert McDonald & Wayne Pfeffer

To Robert.A.McDonald@VA.gov Allison.Hickey@VA.gov Me Oct 10 at 9:07 PM

October 10, 2014

To Mr. Wayne Pfeffer, Director VA PIHCS, and VA Secretary Robert A. McDonald

Mr. Wayne Pfeffer, on Sept. 29, 2014 at the VA Town hall meeting, you stated that you would immediately be addressing and investigate why I have not had a primary care doctor assigned to me, since my initial intake for services at the VA in December 2012. To date, I have not received any written response from you about why I have not had a my primary care doctor for more than 16 months and the formal VA investigation of my complaints against the VA, YWCA & U.S. Vets.

Mr. Pfeffer, you were also at the June 4, 2014 listening tour with Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard, and the August 19, 2014 Senate Field Hearing with Mazie Hirano. At these 2 events, as I did again on September 29, 2014, I shared with you my ongoing plight of being refused services and benefits, I have been harassed, retaliated against and not protected as a Witness by the VA, YWCA & the U.S. Vets . Instead the VA, U.S Vets & YWCA colluded to disparately punish, harass, retaliate against and not protected me, for being a Whistle blower who had uncovered fraud, harm and abuse by the VA, U.S. Vets & YWCA to myself and other female veterans in a Veterans Affair (VA) funded program U.S Vets “Advance Hawaii Women Program” for homeless Female Veterans in partnership with the YWCA at the YWCA Fernhurst here on Oahu.

You reviewed and received copies of my photo’s of the 4 month old expired rotten meat and expired soda that was being served to female veterans and was immediately throw away by the VA, YWCA & U.S. Vets , after the U.S. Vets appointed Client Representative Tammy Szabo notified me and it was documented that we were being served 4 month old expired rotten meat and expired soda, and I had notified the Media.

You heard my testimony and took the copy of my Photo of Brendalis Garcia in the closet, a Homeless Female Veterans that I triage and called for help to Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard as Brendalis Garcia sat distraught having an emotional breakdown in the closet banging her head against the cement wall, because Brendalis Garica was being kicked out evicted by the VA, U.s. Vets & YWCA back to the streets homeless from the VA funded program at the U.S. Vets YWCA Fernhust. This was because Brendalis was order back to active duty for 2 weeks in the National Guard and the VA evicted her from the program. The Photo of Alfrieda Trawick who wrote 2 complaints after she was purported by the media as having a drug & alcohol problem, PSTD and Sexual Trauma disorders in a Honolulu Star Advertiser Story on January 5, 2013 and publicly & nationally announced that Ms. Trawick was homeless , Ms. Trawick fell to the ground distraught upon see herself in a photo and on the front page in the Honolulu Star Advertiser Story and I also triaged Ms. Trawick. Ms. Trawick wrote a formal complaint in early January about her Payroll Stubs & private payroll information being left out for several days unsecured at the VA funded U.S. Vets/YWCA Fernhurst Program.

You heard my testimony and took the Photo’s of the Stolen IPAD that YWCA Resident Manager Rhonda Jones stole from a teenager who was a client at the YWCA. YWCA Resident Manager Rhonda Jones swore at the teenagers mother, the mother stated that Rhonda Jones called the mom and other Media Mr. Carroll Cox “A Fucking Idot.” When the mother questioned why YWCA Resident Manager Rhonda Jones stole the IPAD and deleted evidence of Photo’s of Female Veterans at the YWCA and other personal information, photo’s Music and files on the IPAD. Along with other criminal acts by the VA, U.S. Vets/YWCA to myself and other female veterans that I filed formal complaints for to the VA while at the YWCA/U.S Vets homeless program for female Veterans.

You stated you would be immediately following up and responding back to me on my formal complaint’s filed for the VA investigation and my due process by the VA, U.S. Vets & the YWCA in regards to being denied the right to video the VA Grand Opening Gala on January 4, 2013 at the U.S. Vets & the YWCA Fernhurst, my files being left out unsecured at the VA funded U.S. Vets/YWCA program. I was repeatedly punished, written up and retaliated against by the VA Homeless Coordinator Andrew Dahlberg, Misty Kiyuna (VA Grant Per Deim counselor), Mr. Darryl Vincent (COO, U.S. Vets), Dr. Kim Cook (U.S. Vets), Noriko Namaiki (CEO YWCA), for securing my files and filing a formal complaint to the VA Secretary Retired General Eric Shinseki.

What are your finding in regards in my formal complaint’s filed for the VA investigation and the VA denying me my due process by the VA, and not being protected as a witness and a whistle blower?

You stated that you would be clarifying why it has taken more than 16 months for the VA to determine and assign me a Primary Care Doctor, and why it was such a long delay in getting a Primary Care Doctor decided upon by the VA PIHCS since my initial VA intake in December 2012, subsequent refusal of VA Health services on April 4, 2013.

What are your finding in regards to why it has taken the VA PIHCS more than 16 months for the VA to determine and assign me a Primary Care Doctor and the VA refusing and denying me my Health Benefits and services?

Subsequently as I mentioned directly to you on September 29, 2014 at the VA Town Hall, that two days prior to the VA Town Hall Meeting on or about September 29, 2014. I had been contacted by an employee at the VA PIHCS that they were calling me to schedule a 16 month follow up appointment with the Women’s Health Doctor Dr. Lee.

When I asked the VA Employee why I have not received a Primary Care Doctor, that it is now “more than 575 days without a Primary Care Doctor” and my initial intake in December 2012. The VA employee said she did not know why I did not have or why I have not been assigned a Primary CareDoctor and that the VA would have to call me back, the VA employee hung up. I received no phone call back from the VA . So the following day, on about September 28, 2014, I call back to the VA to ask again when was I going to be assigned a Primary Care Doctor, the VA employee could not tell me, asked me to hold on and then transferred me to the Nurses Helpline, Mr. Rick Valquez the Manager. The Manager of the Nurses Helpline Mr. Rick Valquez now stated more than 16 months later, that my Primary Care Doctor was in fact Dr. Lee from the Woman’s Health Section. I asked him how could that be?

More Female Veterans are being put back onto the streets homeless by the VA, the YWCA and the U.S. Vets

More Female Veterans are being put back onto the streets homeless by the VA, the YWCA and the U.S. Vets

(Photo above of the “Doo rag & pack back
labeled “Homeless” a welcome gift from the VA – Veterans Affairs”)

And that this was not the case, since Dr. Lee stated in my visit to her office in May 2013, that she was not my Primary Care Doctor in May 2013 and could not refer me for services for the stress I was having as a whistle blower not being protected from the punishment, retaliation, harm and abuses I shared with her at that visit, that I would have to wait until I have a Primary Care Doctor assigned to me to be referred for those services. Also in a prior attempt on or about April 4, 2013 which the VA refused and denied me any services for the stress I was having as a witness and awhistle blower not being protected. As I stated I have not receive and did not receive any referral appointment or services by Dr. Lee on that date (May 2013) or any VA Medical appointment or referrals after my May 2013 visit with the Woman Health Dr. Lee.

Upon asking Mr. Rick Valequez if Dr. Lee of the Women Health section was my Primary Care Doctor why did she not refer me for services/an appointment for my stress Mr. Valquez states to me “oh well we will just assign you to another Women’s Health Doctor. This is nothing more that trickery, and I believe Mr. Valques behavior is disingenuous, criminal, unethical and is just another example that show the continued culture of the systemic failures and crisis we have right now, the continued harm and abuse to Veterans, and is nothing more than a VA Cover up and more attempts by the VA which has avoided the problems myself and other veterans are experiencing. Mr.Valquez or anyone at the VA has not or did not give a valid answer as to why if Dr. Lee refused and denied me services for the stress I was receiving as a result of the punishment, retaliation and harassment by the VA for being a witness, filing my formal complaints and a whistle blower not being protected under the no fear act by the VA, its leadership, the VA’s mission and by our Congress. What our your plan to address these wrongs?

I also spoke to you (Mr. Wayne Pfeffer) about my last attempt to use the VA PIHCS services, which was on or about May 30, 2014. I walked into the VA PIHCS and requested an appointment for a Mental Health evaluation/assessment which I was order by to have by the State Judiciary/Courts to do. I was referred and then again refused services at the VA PIHCS on that same day, the attending Doctor at the Mental Health section, informed me that the VA does not do any Court Ordered Mental Health evaluation/assessment and could not help me. The attending Doctor also stated that since I do not have any pre Mental Health Diagnosis/ Conditions and I do not take any medication or have any current therapies/counseling, that the VA does not do intake assessments, the can only VA provide mental health services for preconditions, so the VA could not provide me with services.

I had asked the attending Doctor to write out a statement that day to give to the courts, showing I attempted to receive a Mental Health Assessment /Evaluation by the VA but was denied, which you reviewed and we discussed, that the doctors written statement is not accurate and is misleading in the false fact that he stated I did not want care, since his discussion to me was only that since I do not have any Pre – Mental Health Diagnosis/conditions and I do not take any medication or have any current therapies/counseling, that the VA does not do intake assessments for mental health, the VA could not provide me with any services.

I respectfully request a written formal response to my questions and inquiry, I am still struggling to get back on my feet from the failures, the criminal and harmful, insensitive treatment I have received from the VA as a homeless female Veterans. Please excuse my raw attempt to articulate and put into words the injustices that other veterans and myself endured. And please realize that this is not the totality of all my formal complaints, of what I have suffered and bared.

So please email mail your formal written response and answers to my email which is tinaquizon@rocketmail.com.

Thank you,
Tina Quizon
808 386 1021

P.S. I wish to thank Mr. Benjamin Krause of DisabledVeterans.org for providing the emails of Secretary McDonald and Ms. Hickey, something the Hawaii VA has not done for us Veterans.

Learn more :

 

Update – Feb 17, 2016 Embattled VA director Wayne Pfeffer of Veterans Affairs in Pacific has abruptly resigned, effectively immediately as reported from the Honolulu Star Advertiser. The Article from Dan Nakaso states :

“Pfeffer had been on the job less than three years and oversaw a system that at one point in 2014 had the longest wait times in the entire VA system for an incoming patient to get an initial appointment with a primary care physician. In 2014, U.S. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard had called for Pfeffer’s resignation.” Read the Full Article here https://www.staradvertiser.com/breaking-news/embattled-director-of-veterans-affairs-in-pacific-resigns/

