Road Blocks of Public access Television

Posted on January 29, 2012

0


Why should you as a citizen be concerns about road blocks in Public-access television?

In exchange for the Telecommunications Rights-of-Way, and to provide services to all Americans, (PEG) Public, educational, and government access television, (also know as PEG-TV, PEG channel, and Local-access television)was created in the United States between 1969 and 1971 by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and mandated under the Cable Communications Act of 1984, which is codified under 47 USC § 531,

The Cable Communications Act of 1984 (Public Law 98-549) was an act of Congress passed on October 30, 1984 to promote competition and deregulate the cable industry. And in return for the use of public right away for telecommunication 5 % would be returned to the public for use.

In Hawaii on the Island of Oahu the contract and stewardship of these funds from the state’s DCCA (Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs) were awarded to OLelo of the administration of public access TV.

On December 31st 2011, I went down to the DCCA to file a complaint about Olelo impeding on my rights and use of PEG access.

I spoke to a Mr. Glenn Chock who informed me that I could not file a complaint against Olelo. I was amazed at his statement, he said they are a private entity. I responded that this private entity Olelo is the contractor of Oahu’s PEG funding. And that I believe I have the right to file a complaint. I had to defend myself why I should be able to file a complaint against Olelo. He finally agreed and brought me the form that I filled out.

While there at his office filing my complaint, DCCA’s Glenn Chock informed me that they have given Olelo the discertion to use their stewardship to do there own coverage, broadcast and to produce content as they feel fit, yet he said this wording is not in any contract. Mr Chocke said they decided and it was determined okay to extend the scope of the Olelo services during some public hearings and commentary.

And yet this discretion is not afforded to the individual constituents and is actually restricted to myself, so how did DCCA and Olelo amass these privileges. How can DCCA and Olelo not extend it to other individuals, individual producers or the individual constituents of public access and community television, and should the general public be concerned about such abuse of power and funding.

I have since received a letter from DCCA informing me that Olelo would be responding to my complaint. Whats wrong with this picture?? Also I would like to clarify their response does not address fully all the issues I spoke about in person to Mr. Glenn Chock of DCCA, of Olelo’s impediment to me, and the self serving agenda that Olelo is now running, has deprived me of use and access of equipment and services that are occurring.

So not only am I again abandoned by the very government agency who should be over seeing and regulating the steward of the PEG Funds, I am left defending myself to the very entity that impeded and deprived me from access to equipment, production and broadcasting my content for Pathways to Paradise.

I am insulted and stupid-fied. DCCA washes its hands from any over-site, accountibity and regulation of Olelo community access who are the stewards of oahu’s community public access television.

Were is the oversight of the government’s responsibility to the people and am I the only one these actions are effecting, and who is the advocate for me, and why is my freedom of speech and exercised right to not be deprived of using PEG access, for broadcast and produce content not being defended.

Olelo should create a new mission statement that more appropriately defines them Olelo “They only served themselves”

Listen to more concerns raised about Olelo and our PEG, and my comments on the Carroll Cox Radio Show

http://carrollcox.com/Show012912.htm

Copy of the DCCA’s letter and response to my complaint

Olelo "They only served themselves"

